Can Kids be the Antidote to Anxiety?

17 Jun

Angus bouncingI seem to thrive on anxiety. It’s just as well as since setting up my own business I’ve found it difficult to switch off. When I’m not tied to my desk hammering out emails or working in London, New York or Berlin I’m poolside adrenaline levels rising as the girls pound up and down the pool aiming for times to get them to the next level of competition.

I then get anxious that the 3 year old, in spite of his disability, doesn’t get the attention his big sisters did at his age when I was safely ensconced in a 9-5 job and they were the focus of my world.

It was therefore fortuitous when a ludicrous public health order forced him to stay off nursery last week (he’d had contact with someone with a bacterial infection) while he went through various tests. Five long days later he got the all clear but in the interim I had had a deliriously happy time bonding with my little boy.

Although entertaining him by day meant that I then had to work long into the night to catch up (& ignore the older children) I will treasure those snatched moments in the rare sun of this Scottish summer forever. His joyful company was a million times better than switching off by relaxing in a spa or sinking a large glass of wine after a stressful day.

Scottish schools break up a week on Friday and I am determined that the few weeks we have away together over the summer won’t be marred by my thinking about work. To my shame my deaf 3 year old often chides me for checking emails on my iPhone shouting ‘wake up mummy!’  & it’s difficult to berate the older girls for being on theirs when I am doing the same thing.

I haven’t taken any time off work since this time last year bar a few days over Christmas. This summer I intend to kick back a little bit, enjoy our two weeks in Spain and Islay and concentrate on making my children as happy as they make me. Little did I know that the best antidote to anxiety has been bouncing around in front of me all the time.

Leave a Reply

