After Death and a Deaf Diagnosis, Redundancy will be a doddle – I hope.

2 Mar

santa outfitI was told this week that the company I have worked for for the last 16 years is closing its doors at Christmas. At any other time redundancy would have been a body blow but having coped with the death of my father and my son’s deaf diagnosis the news didn’t hit me as hard as I thought it would.

It has been a good week. On Monday I was interviewed on BBC Radio Scotland and met the charming actress Gerda Stevenson, on Tuesday we heard that my 10 year old had been accepted to the school of our choice and on Thursday my 1 year old had a great audiology test which showed that his hearing is back on the moderate / severe borderline it had been pre glue ear in the Autumn. On Thursday afternoon I was made redundant.

When my bosses asked me to go to see them I naively thought they were going to offer me a pay rise. However the fact that all other senior managers were filing into the office too and the grim expressions of the founders showed it wasn’t going to be a happy chat.

We sat in stunned silence as they told us that after 35 years at the helm they have decided to close the office at the end of the year. It’s not that surprising. They are both over 60 and Random House bought 50% of the company over 7 years ago so subconciously I have probably been preparing for redundancy since then but I really hadn’t expected it now.

Some years ago I swithered over going for voluntary redundancy. I’m very glad I didn’t. Since then I have shared the excitment of developing our e-book programme, entered the fast moving world of digital marketing, travelled to Guadalajara, New York and Frankfurt and returned to my publicist roots. I’ve had a ball.

Only last week my daughter said she didn’t want me to ever leave Mainstream because I worked with such a great team. I do.  I know that I have transferable skills and am confident that when my job comes to an end at the year I’ll find something else to pay the new school fees but I’m not sure I will ever find an office where laughter is so prevalent, or where the Christmas present of choice is a saucy Santa outfit.

I’m sorry that the company is closing but I’m so happy that we had a positive audiology test and that my daughter passed her entrance exam that I cannot be too sad.  My children have proved themselves, now it’s my turn to show that I can prove myself too.

4 Responses to “After Death and a Deaf Diagnosis, Redundancy will be a doddle – I hope.”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. From Publisher to TV Presenter | Sleepless in silence in suburbia - March 15, 2013

    […] other things there are to consider when you have a child with a disability. And it is only now, experiencing redundancy for the first time that I appreciate the conflicting emotions of anxiety and excitement which […]

  2. Disability is not a box to be ticked it’s a day to day reality | Sleepless in silence in suburbia - May 20, 2013

    […] I wrote my CV (for the first time in about 20 years) I added the line that since having a baby who is deaf, […]

  3. Charity begins at home | Sleepless in silence in suburbia - June 17, 2013

    […] into the whip round envelope but into their own leaving fund. As the company gets ever closer to closing the Edinburgh operation and it looks like I will be one of the last men standing I wish I’d […]

  4. Decision made. Introducing Brownlee Donald Associates. | Sleepless in silence in suburbia - November 8, 2013

    […] we were told that our office was closing at the end of the year and being absorbed into what is now Penguin Random House I have gone through […]

Leave a Reply

